The Port evolves

In 1743, sand was still a problem in the Port: it was deposited in the area between the end of the East seawall and Torre de les Puces (now the site of the Columbus Monument). Work began in 1816 to extend the seawall to solve the problem. By 1882, the seawall extended as far as today’s Floating Dry Dock.

In 1772, the East seawall was extended as far as what is now the Fishermen’s wharf. At the same time, the Torre de la Llanterna – now known as the Torre del Rellotge, or clock tower was built, and has become one of the city’s most iconic buildings.